South African Thoracic Society

SATS Executive Council Members

Professor R van Zyl-Smit


MBChB, MRCP(UK), Dip HIV(Man), MMED, FCP(SA), Cert Pulm(SA), PhD

Consultant Pulmonologist Division of Pulmonology and Department of Medicine University of Cape Town & Groote Schuur Hospital

Head Lung Clinical Research Unit University of Cape Town Lung Institute (Pty) Ltd

Professor Refiloe Masekela


Professor and Head of Paediatrics, Paediatric Pulmonologist, Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Professor Michelle Wong


Principal Specialist and Head: Respiratory Unit, Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital, University of the Witwatersrand.

Professor Greg Calligaro


BSc. Hons (Physiology) MBBCh Dip PEC, FCP MMed (UCT) Cert Pulm (SA)
Consultant Pulmonologist, Division of Pulmonology, Groote Schuur Hospital.
Associate Professor: Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town
Medical Lead: Thoracic transplantation, Heart and Lung Transplant Clinic, GSH.

Professor Coenraad FN Koegelenberg

Past President

MBChB, MMed (Int), FCP (SA), FRCP (UK), Cert Pulm (SA), PhD

Head of Division: Pulmonology
Stellenbosch University & Tygerberg Hospital
Cape Town
South Africa